Sunday, March 3, 2024
28 C
Brunei Town

UBD crowned Chancellor’s Trophy 2022 champion

Universiti Brunei Darussalam (UBD) was crowned the champion of the Chancellor’s Trophy 2022, followed by Universiti Islam Sultan Sharif Ali (UNISSA) in second place and Universiti Teknologi Brunei (UTB) in third.

UTB hosted the Chancellor’s Trophy 2022 closing ceremony at the Royal Berkshire Hall, Royal Brunei Polo and Riding Club, Jerudong recently.

The Chancellor’s Trophy was consented by His Majesty Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah Mu’izzaddin Waddaulah ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Haji Omar ‘Ali Saifuddien Sa’adul Khairi Waddien, Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam, the Chancellor of UBD, UNISSA, UTB and Religious Teachers University College of Seri Begawan (KUPU SB) on August 5, 2021.

Minister of Education Datin Seri Setia Dr Hajah Romaizah binti Haji Mohd Salleh was the guest of honour.

Permanent Secretary (Higher Education) at the Ministry of Education (MoE) Dr Haji Azman bin Ahmad, Vice-Chancellor of UTB Datin Paduka Professor Dr Dayang Hajah Zohrah binti Haji Sulaiman, Vice-Chancellor of UBD Dr Hazri bin Haji Kiflie, Rector of UNISSA Dr Haji NorArfan bin Haji Zainal, Deputy Permanent Secretary (Higher Education) at the MoE Dr Chin Wei Keh and Ra’es of KUPU SB representative Adi Rani Sofian bin Abdul Rahman also attended.

Minister of Education Datin Seri Setia Dr Hajah Romaizah binti Haji Mohd Salleh in a group photo with the winners. PHOTO: UTB

The event commenced with the recitation of Surah Al-Fatihah and Doa Selamat.

The Chair of the Chancellor’s Trophy 2022 and President of the Student Representative Council (MPPUTB) 2022/2023 Ummi Salamah binti Haji Mohamad Firdaus delivered welcoming remarks, followed by a multimedia presentation and performances of the Chancellor’s Trophy 2022 by the participating institutions divided into three segments: religious, sports, and cultural performances.

In the religious segment, KUPU SB presented Tausyeh while UNISSA performed Hadrah. The sports performances featured UTB demonstrating Tarik Kalat and badminton. KUPU SB presented Gulingtangan and Pidato for the cultural performances.

The event ended with the announcement of the host for Chancellor’s Trophy 2024, followed by the UTB Vice-Chancellor handing over the Chancellor’s Trophy flag to the UBD Vice-Chancellor.

Since its establishment in 2021, the Chancellor’s Trophy hopes that the tournament will inspire the growth of sports, competitions and camaraderie between public and private higher education institutions in the Sultanate.

The Chancellor’s Trophy also focusses on collaborative efforts between university leaders and student councils, spearheaded by UTB as 2021 host, to organise, conduct and execute competitions in the format and aspects of physical sports, non-sports, intellectual and cultural.