Sunday, March 3, 2024
27 C
Brunei Town

Trophy, USD20K await ASEAN Prize 2022 winner

Azlan Othman

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) has officially launched the call for nominations for ASEAN Prize 2022, said the Asean Secretariat.

Established in 2018, the regional annual award has honoured ASEAN individuals and ASEAN-based organisations for their contribution and continuous efforts in enhancing ASEAN community-building.

“This year, in its fifth edition, the ASEAN Prize continues to search for an outstanding individual and/or organisation that has risen to the challenge of empowering lives and connecting communities across the region amid our challenging journey towards pandemic recovery,” Director for Community Affairs of the ASEAN Secretariat Lee Yoong Yoong said. ‘’We encourage ASEAN citizens to join us in celebrating such commendable spirit of service through a nomination submission, as a tribute to the perseverance, determination and resilience in helping to forge together an ASEAN Identity.”

Eligible nominations must provide valid supporting documents to affirm the nominee’s contribution and achievements in promoting ASEAN’s cross-pillar collaboration, including their future plans and initiatives towards advancing ASEAN community building. The submission must be supported by one character reference addressing the nominee’s suitability for the ASEAN Prize. The ASEAN Prize will, however, not consider self-nominations and posthumous submissions.

Secretary-General of ASEAN Dato Paduka Lim Jock Hoi will chair the Judging Committee Meeting to select the potential nominee together with the former ASEAN secretaries-general.

The ASEAN Prize 2022 Recipient will receive a trophy and monetary prize of USD20,000.
The ASEAN Prize 2022 is supported by ASEAN-based sponsors, Temasek Foundation of Singapore and Yayasan Hasanah of Malaysia.

The ASEAN Prize has been awarded to four recipients in consecutive years. The Philippine advocate and community leader for autism Erlinda Koe was awarded the inaugural ASEAN Prize 2018 for her devotion to fostering an inclusive ASEAN Community.

A medical professional and humanitarian leader from Malaysia Tan Sri Dr Jemilah Mahmood was honoured with the ASEAN Prize 2019 recipient for her inspirational efforts in providing swift humanitarian response to the affected and marginalised communities in the region and beyond.

The following year, the ASEAN Studies Centre, ISEAS-Yusof Ishak Institute, a Singapore-based leading research centre, was bestowed the ASEAN Prize 2020 in recognition of its long-standing dedication and contribution in augmenting ASEAN awareness and promoting regional integration and cooperation.

In 2021, Mekong Institute, an intergovernmental organisation based in Khon Kaen, Thailand, was awarded the ASEAN Prize for their steadfast efforts in deepening and broadening development in the Greater Mekong Sub-region (GMS) through the delivery of programmes and activities focussing on human resource development and capacity building.