Friday, February 23, 2024
30 C
Brunei Town

Miyazaki’s graphic novel to be issued in the US

NEW YORK (AP) – A graphic novel by Oscar-winning filmmaker Hayao Miyazaki is being released for the first time in the United States (US), nearly 40 years after it was published in Japan.

Miyazaki’s Shuna’s Journey, a 1983 release which contains elements later built upon in his films Princess Mononoke and Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind, will be published on November 1 by the Macmillan imprint First Second. Alex Dudok de Wit is translating the book into English.

“Fans of Princess Mononoke and Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind – there are millions of us – will delight in finding early hints of these masterworks in gorgeous watercolour pages by Miyazaki’s own hand,” editorial and creative director of First Second Mark Siegel said in a statement on Tuesday.

Miyazaki, 81, is regarded as one of the world’s greatest animators. His other films include My Neighbor Totoro, Kiki’s Delivery Service and the 2001 release Spirited Away, which won the Academy Award for best animated feature.

He was nominated for a best animated feature Oscar for his 2013 film The Wind Rises.

Combination of photos show cover art for ‘Shuna’s Journey’ a graphic novel by Hayao Miyazaki and Miyazaki at the 6th annual Governors Awards in Los Angeles on November 8, 2014. PHOTO: AP
spot_img

Latest

spot_img