Sunday, December 10, 2023
29 C
Brunei Town

Burkina Faso names government following January coup

OUAGADOUGOU (AFP) – Burkina Faso strongman Paul-Henri Sandaogo Damiba has named a 25-member government to lead the West African country during a three-year transition following January’s coup.

General Barthelemy Simpore retains the job of defence minister that he held under Roch Marc Christian Kabore, who was ousted after troops mutinied over his strategy against extremists.

Simpore has even been elevated to the rank of minister of state, according to a Damiba decree published late on Saturday.

Six women have been appointed to the Cabinet, including Olivia Rouamba, who will serve as Foreign Minister.

Yero Boly, who was a minister in various governments under previous president Blaise Compaore, was named Minister of State to the president and tasked with national reconciliation.

President of Burkina Faso Lieutenant-Colonel Paul-Henri Sandaogo Damiba leaving his inauguration ceremony in Ouagadougou. PHOTO: AFP

Damiba last Thursday named economist Albert Ouedraogo the new Prime Minister.

Last Tuesday, Damiba signed a so-called transition charter that declared elections would be held 36 months after his inauguration.

The period was longer than the 30 months that had been proposed by a commission set up by the junta.

The charter stipulates that the president is not eligible for the “presidential, legislative and municipal elections which will be organised to put an end to the transition”.

In addition to the 25-member Cabinet, a 71-member legislature is being set up to ensure the transition. Their members will also be barred from contesting the post-transition ballot.


Latest article