UTB recognises staff with excellence awards

|    Danial Norjidi    |

THE Universiti Teknologi Brunei (UTB) Staff Excellence Awards 2019 presentation ceremony was held yesterday at the university’s multipurpose hall.

Minister of Education Dato Seri Setia Awang Haji Hamzah bin Haji Sulaiman was the guest of honour.

The proceedings began with the recitation of Surah Al-Fatihah and Doa Selamat, followed by welcoming remarks from Acting Vice-Chancellor of UTB Haji Ady Syarmin bin Haji Md Taib.

“We are gathered here this morning to recognise and honour members of staff that have demonstrated excellence in their respective roles in teaching, research and administration,” said the UTB Acting Vice-Chancellor.

“UTB Staff Excellence Awards were first introduced in 2015 to reward the outstanding and valuable contribution of staff to the success of our university in achieving its strategic goals. But more than that, the awards celebrate and promote the culture of excellence in the university.

Minister of Education Dato Seri Setia Awang Haji Hamzah bin Haji Sulaiman presents the Teaching Excellence Award to Dr Mohamad Saiful bin Haji Omar (pic avove) and the Administrative Excellence Award for Technician (Division III, IV & V) to Muhammad Sia bin Abdullah (pic below). – PHOTOS: DANIAL NORJIDI

“The awards have remained competitive, requiring a minimum score of 90 per cent for Excellence and between 80 to 89 per cent for Special Mention, and the criteria are rigorous,” he added. “The recipients are therefore undoubtedly deserving of the accolades and I hope the recognition will motivate them even further and will also inspire others to follow suit.” The ceremony continued with the presentation of awards to the recipients by the guest of honour.

Four Staff Excellence Awards were presented, with each awardee receiving a monetary reward of BND1,000, a plaque and a certificate.

The recipients and the awards presented were as follows: Dr Mohamad Saiful bin Haji Omar, UTB School of Business received the Teaching Excellence Award; Associate Professor Dr Mohammad Rakib Uddin, Faculty of Engineering received the Research Excellence Award Mid-Career Academic; Muhammad Sia bin Abdullah, Information and Communication Technology Centre received the Administrative Excellence Award for Technician (Division III, IV & V); and Muhammad Zaiddin bin Abdul Qayyum Sirul, Registrar and Secretary Office received the Administrative Excellence Award for Administrative Support Staff (Division III, IV & V).

Additionally, Teaching Excellence Award Special Mentions were presented to four recipients, with each awardee being presented a certificate. The recipients were: Dr Hajah Roslynna binti Haji Rosli, Faculty of Engineering; Dr Rama Rao Karri, Faculty of Engineering; Jennifer Voon Nyuk Hiong, School of Computing and Informatics; and Dr Safi Ullah Khan, UTB School of Business.

The ceremony concluded with a festive Hari Raya Aidilfitri gathering, where the guest of honour visited Hari Raya booths set up by the university’s different programmes and departments.

Deputy Minister of Education Datin Seri Paduka Dr Hajah Romaizah binti Haji Mohd Salleh, Permanent Secretary (Higher Education) at the Ministry of Education (MoE) Dr Haji Azman bin Ahmad, Permanent Secretary (Core Education) at the MoE Dr Shamsiah Zuraini Kanchanawati binti Haji Tajuddin, Vice-Chancellor of Universiti Brunei Darussalam Datin Dr Hajah Anita Binurul Zahrina binti Pehin Orang Kaya Laila Wijaya Dato Seri Setia Haji Awang Abdul Aziz, Rector of Universiti Islam Sultan Sharif Ali (UNISSA) Dr Haji Norarfan bin Haji Zainal, Ra’es of Religious Teachers University College of Seri Begawan (KUPU SB) Dr Haji Adanan bin Haji Basar, invited guests, principal officers, staff and students of the university were also present.