UTB gets new student representative council president

Nabil Ridhwan bin Suhili @ Suhaili was elected the new president of Universiti Teknologi Brunei (UTB) Student Representative Council (MPPUTB) for 2021/2022.

The MPPUTB 2020/2021 and the Student Affairs Office co-hosted the presidential election for the 2021/2022 session at the Lecture Theatre 2, Library Complex, UTB.

UTB Vice-Chancellor Professor Dr Hajah Zohrah binti Haji Sulaiman attended as the guest of honour, joined by the principal officers, staff and university students, who voted at the election.

The election commenced with speeches from the four candidates – Nursyarah Waznah binti Pengiran Haji Suhaili, Nabil Safwan bin Suhili @ Suhaili, Nur Syifaa Adawiyah binti Ismail and Nabil Ridhwan.

The candidates shared their strategic plans in reaching out to students and their solutions to issues raised during the question-and-answer session.

The election ended with the casting of votes from the audience in an online ballot.

Thirty-five students applied to become an MPPUTB member.

The shortlisted candidates were screened for their leadership, commitment and dedication, interpersonal and knowledge skills through written tests, interviews and the MPP Orientation Camp.

ABOVE & BELOW: Newly-elected president Nabil Ridhuan bin [email protected] delivers his speech; and UTB Vice-Chancellor Professor Dr Hajah Zohrah binti Haji Sulaiman poses a question during the Q&A session. PHOTOS: UNIVERSITI TEKNOLOGI BRUNEI