Travel suspension extended to four more countries

The temporary suspension of approvals on the entry for foreign nationals departing from or through the Republic of India has been extended to include four more countries from the India subcontinent – Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal, Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, Islamic Republic of Pakistan and People’s Republic of Bangladesh.

This was said by the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) in a statement yesterday, in reference to a media release issued on April 27 on the temporary suspension on travelling to and from India.

With the consent of His Majesty Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah Mu’izzaddin Waddaulah ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Haji Omar ‘Ali Saifuddien Sa’adul Khairi Waddien, Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam, the PMO said the temporary suspension of approvals “is now extended to four weeks, from May 17 until June 13”.

The suspension applies to: entry travels of all foreign nationals departing from or through any airport in the Indian subcontinent except for diplomatic passport holders and members of the armed forces; transits through Brunei for all foreign nationals departing from the subcontinent; and exit-country travels from Brunei to the subcontinent for any reason or business matters except diplomatic passport holders and members of the armed forces as well as foreign nationals who hold an employment or dependent’s pass which have been revoked or cancelled, or the holders of the ‘Special Authorisation Work Pass’ or ‘Professional Visit Visa’ who do not require exit-country approvals from the PMO.

Temporary suspension also applies to foreign nationals who have been granted pre-approvals to enter Brunei from the subcontinent via pre-authorised flights, which have been suspended.

“The conditions for the consideration of entry and exit travel mentioned above are subject to review by the Cross-Border Affairs Steering Committee from time to time,” said the PMO.

For information and details, the public is urged to contact the PMO travel hotline at 120 during working hours or via e-mail at [email protected]