Three MPs quit UK governing party over Brexit

LONDON (AFP) – Three MPs quit Britain’s governing Conservatives yesterday over Brexit, saying the issue had “re-defined” the party and was “undoing all the efforts to modernise it”.

“It is with regret that we are writing to resign the Conservative whip and our membership of the party,” Anna Soubry, Heidi Allen and Sarah Wollaston said in a joint letter to Prime Minister Theresa May.

The trio added that they planned to sit in Parliament alongside eight former Labour lawmakers who, also citing their opposition to Brexit, resigned from the main opposition party this week to form the new Independent Group.