Starball Premier win President’s Cup

Fadhil Yunus

Starball Premier edged Team Tenergy in a five-set thriller to emerge champions of the Team Open category in the President’s Cup held at the Muhibbah Hall of the Brunei-Muara District Office yesterday.

The quartet of Paul Lim Kian Hiong, Tay Kheng Yew, Haji Irwan Mashadi Haji Mashud and Teguh Catur clinched the coveted title after Tay recorded a straight set victory over Sabtu in the deciding set.

Team Tenergy comprising Mohd Zulfadhli Haji Abdul Rahman, Liew Bing Vei, Lee Pak Kui, Sabtu and Md Khairuddin Manap secured the opening set before Starball overturned the tie with a 2-1 lead.

A victory for Team Tenergy led by Mohd Zulfadhli at the expense of Haji Irwan in the fourth game ensured a dramatic finish to the final.

Starball Premier Team Manager Douglas Lim Chong Yan said, “We showed teamwork during the competition. We are very happy to have won a tournament again.”

The team comprising veteran players and former national players have previously captured a team title in other local competition.

Yang Amat Mulia Pengiran Muda Arman with his teammates. PHOTOS: FADHIL YUNUS
Champions Starball Premier receive their trophy

Superttstar BN comprising Wee Tzu Min, Haji Said Haji Sheikh Yahya, Dr Kyaw Naing Win, Baktiar Ramli and Lim Yeu Jun claimed third place after defeating Shogun in the playoff.

Meanwhile, Yang Amat Mulia Pengiran Muda Arman of Team PMA finished as runners-up in the junior category.

Nicole Wong E Rou of Skoda survived a comeback from Yang Amat Mulia Pengiran Muda Arman to close the match with a 11-7, 11-6, 7-11, 8-11, 11-9 win and secured victory.

In the team consolation final, Jenggo came out on top while Skoda finished second and Starball Xtreme third.

Organised by the Brunei Darussalam Table Tennis Association (BDTTA) and supported by the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sports, 21 teams divided into four groups participated in the three-day tournament.

BDTTA President Pengiran Haji Mohammad Noor bin Pengiran Haji Tajuddin presented the prizes.