Squash Court Warriors win National Day title

Fadhil Yunus

Squash Court Warriors defeated Double Dot 2-1 to win the 36th National Day Squash Tournament organised by the Brunei Squash Rackets Association (BSRA) at the National Squash Centre of the Hassanal Bolkiah National Sports Complex yesterday.

The Squash Court Warriors men’s team comprised Joseph Hong, Abang Huzairie and Dominic Wong while the Double Dot team included Ng Thin Chong, Haji Saiful Rizal and Asmat Umar.

The Unsquashable team comprising Haji Md Sufri, Lim Kok Sheng and Aziz Jaafar took third place.

The Squash Court Warriors were pleased to be back on the court following a lengthy absence in competitive action due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Meanwhile, rising star Alexander Yong beat Otto Wiseman 11-7, 9-11, 13-11 and 11-1 in the final to claim the under-21 title. Will Tacker settled for third place after defeating Wadi Jaamal 11-9, 11-7 and 11-7.

In the women’s category, Catherine Carter won the title after defeating rival Hamidah Ismail 9-11, 11-9, 11-4 and 11-8 in the final.

The tournament resumed after eight months since government measures were imposed to curb the spread of COVID-19.

Squash is one of six categorised as individual sports that can organise competitions following an announcement during a press conference on September 24.

BSRA’s next competition is expected to be held in March 2021.

President of Brunei Darussalam Squash Rackets Association Haji Abdul Mateen bin Orang Kaya Maharaja Lela Haji Mohd Yusof presents the championship trophy to Squash Court Warriors members. PHOTO: FADHIL YUNUS