Reigning champ wins Merdeka Trophy

Fadhil Yunus

Mohd Aritz Maldini bin Haji Abdul Majid added the Merdeka Trophy 2021 to his collection following a one-stroke victory over national teammate Awangku Muhd Syakir bin Pengiran Haji Alli at the RBA Golf Club in Berakas yesterday.

The reigning Baiduri Masters winner posted a one-under-par 69 and dropped two birdies to secure the title. His teammate and fellow title rival Awangku Muhd Syakir settled for a runners-up finish with an even-par.

The pair has been challenging for titles in the domestic scene most recently during the Pusat Ehsan golf tournament last year when Awangku Muhd Syakir pipped Aritz Maldini to the title via a playoff.

Suhaimi bin Ibrahim, winner of the inaugural Sonax Cup last month, claimed third place with a score of three-over-par 73.

Johari bin Haji Ahmad, the country’s most consistent golfer in 2018, finished five shots back than the winner with a score of 74 in fourth with Bryan Chiew rounding off the top five. The top 12 golfers leading into the final competition also featured serial tournament winner Seruji bin Haji Setia, Pengiran Adam bin Pengiran Atan, Zulhilmi Rosli and Chu Vui Kiat.

Mohd Aritz Maldini bin Haji Abdul Majid with his trophy. PHOTO: MERDEKA TROPHY

Day one leader Md Irwan bin Haji Abdul Hamid, Haji Md Esham and Julian Kamaluddin also made the cut in the top twelve.

Meanwhile, Bryan Chiew emerged overall nett winner followed by Mohd Nooryasdie in second place and Md Ridha bin Haji Asmat in third.

Other winners also included Seruji bin Haji Setia in Division ‘A’, Nu’maan Shahrir in Division ‘B’, Pengiran Haji Yaakub bin Pengiran Haji Md Salleh in Division ‘C’, Dato Seri Setia Ir Awang Haji Suhaimi bin Haji Gafar in the senior nett category, Wan Man bin Haji Wan Hil in the senior overall gross category and Elisabeth Boersheim in the ladies nett category.

Permanent Secretary (Municipal and District) at the Ministry of Home Affairs Salminan bin Haji Burut presented the prizes.

Organised by the Mukim Gadong ‘A’ Consultative Council with cooperation from the Brunei-Muara District Office, the tournament was held in conjunction with Brunei Darussalam’s 37th National Day celebration.