Opposition boycotts swearing-in of new Bangladesh MPs

Dhaka (AFP) – Opposition Members of Parliament (MPs) yesterday boycotted the swearing-in of the new Bangladesh Parliament members after a controversial election that was dogged by allegations of intimidation and fraud. Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina was declared the landslide winner after last Sunday’s poll, marking a third term in office for the leader accused of increasing authoritarianism and overseeing a crackdown on the opposition. More details in Friday’s Borneo Bulletin