Monday, July 22, 2024
29 C
Brunei Town

New Hong Kong Cabinet includes four under US sanctions

HONG KONG (AFP) – Beijing yesterday appointed a new Hong Kong administration that includes four senior officials under United States (US) sanctions its incoming leader has decried as an attempt to “bully” China.

The US hit 11 Hong Kong and Beijing officials with sanctions two years ago after a sweeping national security law was imposed to snuff out dissent in the semi-autonomous city following the massive, sometimes violent democracy protests of 2019. Seven were members of the Hong Kong government, and four will continue in the new administration, including leader-in-waiting John Lee, Security Minister Chris Tang, Mainland Affairs Minister Erick Tsang and newly appointed Chief Secretary for Administration Eric Chan.

The other three sanctioned were retired police chief Steven Lo, outgoing city leader Carrie Lam and Secretary for Justice Teresa Cheng, who will be replaced.

Hong Kong’s leader-in-waiting John Lee (front C) poses for a photo with his newly-appointed cabinet at the central government headquarters in Hong Kong. PHOTO: AFP