MS ABDB win DST Super League

|     Fadhil Yunus     |

MS ABDB have been crowned DST Super League champions for a third straight year after completing their season with a goalless draw against Indera SC at the Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium last night.

The army personnel were already guaranteed of the crown after Kota Ranger’s hopes of bringing the title race down to the wire were dashed after they drew to Tabuan Muda ‘A’ on February 3.

Kota Ranger will finish as runners-up regardless of the outcome of their final match against MS PDB while Indera SC, who needed a win to keep their hopes for second place alive, are confirmed third place.

Indera SC pair Haimie Anak Nyaring and Suhaimi Anak Sulau and MS ABDB forward Abd Azizi Ali Rahman, all linked with a possible switch to DPMM FC, made what looked to be their final appearances for their respective clubs.

MS ABDB’s Rosmin Kamis made his first start for his new club since leaving DPMM FC.

MS ABDB’s Adey Shariduan Haji Johari registered the first shot off target after heading the ball from a cross wide.

Minister of Culture, Youth and Sports, Major General (Rtd) Dato Paduka Seri Awang Haji Aminuddin Ihsan bin Pehin Orang Kaya Saiful Mulok Dato Seri Paduka Haji Abidin presenting the trophy to MS ABDB. – KHAIRIL HASSAN

Azizi darted into the box but saw his tame shot comfortably saved by Haimie who could potentially be his future team-mate in red and black colours next season.

The army personnel enjoyed a bright start as Razimie Ramlli just failed to connect a good ball from Md Baharin Hamidon.

Razimie then hit the underside of the bar as the champions-elect cranked up the pressure.

Indera managed to deliver a good ball into the box as Asri Aspar sliced his effort wide.

The former league winners had been under the cosh for the first quarter of the match but they forced the goalkeeper to push the ball away for their first corner.

From the ensuing corner, Md Shafie bin Haji Effendy was the quickest to react but headed wide as MS ABDB retrieved the ball.

Asri went for accuracy as he struck his free-kick straight at the goalkeeper.

Indera went close to an opener after Asri cleverly played a pass to Hamizan Aziz bin Sulaiman but the latter lost his footing enabling the defence to clear the ball away.

Hamizan Aziz sprinted clear into the box but his tame shot was dealt with by MS ABDB goalkeeper Tarmizi Haji Mat Johari.

MS ABDB’s debutant Rosmin Kamis found an opening after skipping past his marker and it needed a block from the Indera defence.

Indera survived another scare as the ball was cleared away for a corner.

Md Shafie hit the side-netting after finding a header on the far post as a consequence of a good cross.

Indera were unfortunate not to have taken the lead after Hamizan Aziz struck against the post after bursting clear to the edge of the box after the restart.

MS ABDB nearly hit from a counter after Mazazizi Mazlan raced clear before whipping a ferocious cross across the face of goal but it was too strong for Razimie.

Abd Azizi nearly sent the perfect farewell gift by presenting his team the lead but the ball was slightly behind him as his header ended wide after meeting a Baharin Hamidon’s cross.

Rosmin showed his cool after resisting the challenge off a marker before unleashing his shot wide.

And at the other end Asri was denied by a combination of the goalkeeper strong reflexes and partially the post.

Nazirruddin bin Haji Ismail tested Tarmizi with a fierce low strike but the goalkeeper dived to his right to make the save.

Minister of Culture, Youth and Sports, Major General (Rtd) Dato Paduka Seri Awang Haji Aminuddin Ihsan bin Pehin Orang Kaya Saiful Mulok Dato Seri Paduka Haji Abidin presented the prizes.