MS ABDB Super League champions after Kasuka win

|     Fadhil Yunus     |

MS ABDB have been confirmed as champions for a fourth successive year in the DST Super League 2018/2019 after they edged nearest title challengers Kasuka FC 2-1 at the Berakas Sports Complex last night.

Abdul Hariz bin Herman handed second-placed Kasuka a much-needed boost to their slim title hopes after grabbing the opener in the 11th minute and the lead remained at the break.

Only a victory will do for Kasuka to ensure that the title will be put on hold for at least another week with the army personnel requiring just a point to clinch the title.

Kasuka’s hopes of delaying the inevitable suffered a blow after MS ABDB drew level through Mohd Khairuddin Mohd Azahari on the 68th mark. As it stood, the army personnel would be league champions especially during a period of the match where they hit top form.

Mohd Khairuddin had a habit of turning out as a saviour for his team having also scored in the hour mark on their way to a 2-1 victory against Indera SC earlier this season which at that time appeared to be a key moment in the title race.

MS ABDB players in a team photo. – NFABD

Less than 10 minutes later, MS ABDB’s joy was further heightened after Muhd Hariz Danial Haji Khallidden helped his team take the lead.

Kasuka played a part to ensure this fixture was a potential decider after the Lun Bawang rout in Temburong last week, but suddenly found them on the brink of losing out in the title race.

MS ABDB suffered a shock defeat to Lun Bawang earlier in the season but since then they were a picture of perfection and never at any point seemed to be surrendering their title.

The army personnel hold an unassailable 12-point lead at the top of the table with two games of the season to go. They have only dropped four points in the season with the Lun Bawang defeat accompanied with a draw with Indera SC.