MoE retirees feted at ceremony

|     Wani Roslan     |

A TOTAL of 248 retired officers and staff of the Ministry of Education (MoE) were feted at the Retired Officers and Staff of MoE 2018 celebration ceremony at the Songket Ballroom of The Rizqun International Hotel in Gadong yesterday.

The guest of honour was Minister of Education Dato Seri Setia Awang Haji Hamzah bin Haji Sulaiman. Deputy Minister of Education Datin Seri Paduka Dr Hajah Romaizah binti Haji Mohd Salleh was also present.

The retired officers and staff included officers, teachers and staff who worked at primary and secondary schools, colleges, Institute of Brunei Technical Education (IBTE) and higher education institutions.

In his speech, Permanent Secretary (Higher Education) at the MoE Dr Haji Azman bin Ahmad underlined that the ceremony was to celebrate the retirees as a sign of appreciation, recognition, remembrance and respect for the contributions.

“The contributions given in a collective view or as a result of a team work effort, it brings a significant impact to the development and progress of education, in line with the Brunei Vision 2035,” he said.

Minister of Education Dato Seri Setia Awang Haji Hamzah bin Haji Sulaiman presents a certificate and a souvenir to a retiree. – BAHYIAH BAKIR

The ceremony also saw a speech by one of the retiree representatives, Haji Rahman bin Haji Nawi, former director at the Curriculum Development Department.

The main highlight of the ceremony was the presentation of certificates and souvenirs to the retired officers and staff by the guest of honour.

The ceremony was aimed to celebrate retired officers and staff of the ministry as an appreciation and recognition of their service in serving the government of His Majesty Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah Mu’izzaddin Waddaulah ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Haji Omar ‘Ali Saifuddien Sa’adul Khairi Waddien, Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam. In addition, it aimed to strengthen ties among the retired officers and staff with those who are still working at the ministry.

The ceremony was organised through Higher Education Division and Secretariat of Brunei Darussalam National Accreditation Council (MKPK).