Menglait Stingers lead national badminton league

Fadhil Yunus

Menglait Stingers took pole position after they won their third successive match in the National Badminton Team League Championship at the Youth Centre in the capital recently.

Organised by the Brunei Darussalam National Badminton Association with the cooperation of the Department of Youth and Sports, the tournament gathered pace with the second and third round of matches.

With the competition contested over seven rounds, the second round started on February 28 while the third was held last Sunday.

The second round witnessed tight encounters as Menglait Stingers survived a scare against Menglait Mavericks in a 3-2 win, with MS ABDB edging RHTS by the same score-line.

Onjatu produced a clean sweep of games in the 5-0 win over Red Falcon while T2A emerged 4-1 winners over Bolkiah Mixed Groups.

In the third round, T2A achieved back-to-back victories after beating Red Falcon 4-1 with Menglait Stingers also enjoying another victory under their belt after a comprehensive 5-0 win over MS ABDB.

The other matches saw RHTS claim a 3-2 victory over Bolkiah Mixed Groups while Menglait Mavericks bounced back from their narrow loss with a 4-1 win over Onjatu.

Following the completion of the third round, Menglait Stingers currently lead the standings after they accumulated a maximum of nine points having preserved their unbeaten record.

The current leaders are in good form having only dropped two games although there are teams that are staring over their shoulders.

Four teams are locked with two wins apiece with Menglait Mavericks, Onjatu and T2A and MS ABDB looking to climb their way to the top of the table.

Each round involves a team playing a best-of-five match with the first team to reach three games announced as the winner.

The tournament has five doubles’ categories being contested including under-21 years boys, veterans aged 50 and above, two men’s doubles and one women’s doubles.

The competition is scheduled to resume this Sunday with additional rounds to be played in April culminating in the final round of matches on April 12.

A T2A player in action. PHOTO: FADHIL YUNUS