Meeting discusses intellectual property in Asean

|     Danial Norjidi     |

THE 55th Meeting of the Asean Working Group on Intellectual Property Cooperation (AWGIPC) and Related Meetings convened at the International Convention Centre in Berakas yesterday.

Organised by the Energy and Industry Department, the meeting saw the attendance of delegates from the 10 Asean member states and officials representing their respective intellectual property offices.

Pengiran Jamra Weira bin Pengiran Haji Petra, the Acting Permanent Secretary (Energy and Industry) at the Energy and Industry Department, officially opened the meeting.

According to a press release, the 55th Meeting of the AWGIPC aims to discuss and address intellectual property issues and exchange views and updates on Asean priorities on intellectual property for 2018 and the implementation of the AWGIPC IP Rights Action Plan within the Asean member states.

The 55th AWGIPC meeting also sees the participation of various dialogue partners, namely the Korean Intellectual Property Office (KIPO), the Japan Patent Office (JPO) and the State Intellectual Property Office at the People’s Republic of China.

Established in 1996, the AWGIPC is the sectoral group responsible for Intellectual Property issues in the region, pursuant to the Asean Framework Agreement on Intellectual Property Cooperation signed by Asean member states in 1995.

Pengiran Jamra Weira bin Pengiran Haji Petra, Acting Permanent Secretary (Energy and Industry) at the Energy and Industry Department, in a group photo with delegates and officials. – SYAHMI HASSAN

The current work of the AWGIPC is based on the Asean Intellectual Property Rights Action Plan 2016-2025 which targets to transform their nationals and ensuring that the region remains an active player in the international Intellectual Property community.

The 10th Meeting of the Committee on Intellectual Property of the Asean-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Agreement (AANZFTA) will also be held back-to-back with the 55th Meeting of the AWGIPC. The 10th AANZFTA IP Committee Meeting will discuss and exchange information and key outcomes and decisions of the AANZFTA Joint Committee.

The AANZFTA IP Committee is currently looking at an Economic Cooperation Work Programme Component Implementation Plan and Project Proposals for Intellectual Property for Post-2015, covering training and capacity building for various forms of Intellectual Property amongst the AANZFTA parties.

Protection of Intellectual Property in Brunei Darussalam is under the purview of the Brunei Darussalam Intellectual Property Office (BruIPO), Energy and Industry Department located at the Design and Technology Building in the Anggerek Desa Technology Park.

At present, the BruIPO is responsible for the registrations and renewal processes of Patents, Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Plant Varieties Protection (PCP), whereas the administration of Copyrights is under the purview of the Attorney General’s Chambers.