Meeting discusses ASEAN economic integration progress

James Kon

Permanent Secretary (Economy) at the Ministry of Finance and Economy Dr Hajah May Fae’zah binti Haji Ahmad Ariffin attended the 39th Meeting of the High-Level Task Force on ASEAN Economic Integration (HLTF-EI) via video conference yesterday.

The meeting was chaired by Permanent Secretary at Singapore’s Ministry of Trade and Industry Gabriel Lim.

The meeting was joined by high-level officials from all ASEAN member states and the ASEAN Secretariat to address the implementation of progress of the ASEAN Comprehensive Recovery Framework (ACRF) and the development of the final report of the Mid-Term Review (MTR) of the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) Blueprint 2025 and ASEAN Post-2025 Vision.

The meeting also highlighted the 10 proposed priority economic deliverables (PEDs) for Brunei Darussalam’s 2021 ASEAN Chairmanship under the theme ‘We Care, We Prepare, We Prosper’.

These PEDs fall under three strategic thrusts – recovery, digitalisation, and sustainability.

The concept of circular economy and progress on the development of the Fourth Industrial Revolution consolidated strategy were also discussed.

The meeting served as the advisory role on strategic matters relating to ASEAN economic community building, including to provide strategic guidance in charting future directions, and to deepen ASEAN’s economic integration in the region and its engagement in the global community.