Malaysia’s Sultan Muhammad V abdicates

KUALA LUMPUR (Bernama) – Sultan Muhammad V abdicated as the 15th Yang di-Pertuan Agong yesterday.

Comptroller of the Royal Household, Datuk Wan Ahmad Dahlan Abdul Aziz said that His Majesty officially notified the Malay Rulers on his abdication through a letter sent to the Secretary of the Conference of Rulers.

“In discharging the wishes of His Majesty Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Muhammad V, Istana Negara hereby announces that His Majesty is abdicating as the 15th Yang di-Pertuan Agong effective January 6, 2019, pursuant to Article 32 (3) of the Federal Constitution,” he said in a statement.

Wan Ahmad Dahlan said Sultan Muhammad V also expressed his gratitude to the Malay Rulers who had elected him as the 15th Yang di-Pertuan Agong on December 13, 2016.

He also expressed his appreciation to the Malaysian Prime Minister and the government for their cooperation in governing the country.

This July 17, 2018 file photo shows the 15th King of Malaysia, Sultan Muhammad V, saluting a royal guard of honour during the opening ceremony of the Parliament in Kuala Lumpur. – AFP

“During his tenure as the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, His Majesty had worked to fulfil his responsibilities and the trust placed in him as the Head of State, serving as the pillar of stability, the source of justice and as an umbrella of the solidarity and unity of the people,” he said.

Datuk Pengelola Bijaya Diraja also said His Majesty, as the Supreme Commander of the Malaysian Armed Forces, was proud of the sacrifices and devotion shown to him and the country over the years.

“His Majesty also hopes that all Malaysians will continue to stay united, tolerant and in agreement in shouldering the responsibility to safeguard the country’s sovereignty so that Malaysia will remain in peace and harmony,” he said.

Wan Ahmad Dahlan said His Majesty was ready to return to Kelantan to be together with the state government and the people for its development.

Sultan Muhammad V was installed as the 15th Yang di-Pertuan Agong on April 24, 2017, after taking his oath of office on December 13, 2016.