Thursday, June 1, 2023
29 C
Brunei Town
- Advertisement -

Kasuka run riot against Lun Bawang in FA Cup opener

Fadhil Yunus

Kasuka FC were one of the biggest winners of the opening weekend of the new Brunei FA Cup season following a resounding 13-0 victory over Lun Bawang at the Berakas Sports Complex on Sunday night.

Brunei Darussalam international Mohammad Alinur Rashimy bin Haji Jufri set the tone with the opening goal of the game within moments of kick-off before foreign import Leon Sullivan Taylor doubled the lead in the ninth minute.

Kasuka defender Muhammad Haziq Kasyful Azim Mohammad Hasimulabdillah added his name on the score-sheet in the 15th minute before Taylor made it 4-0 three minutes later.

Taylor, whose services have been retained despite a heavily-interrupted start to Brunei football owed to the COVID-19 pandemic, completed his hat-trick in the 29th minute.

Kasuka FC marquee signing Adi Said marked his competitive debut with a brace after contributing to the deluge of goals in either side of the half.

Players during the Kasuka FC vs Lun Bawang. PHOTO: FABD

Samuel Kojo Abbey joined in the act in the 61st minute before Taylor grabbed his fourth in the 70th minute. Taylor capped a fine performance with his fifth goal of the game just two minutes later before Mohammad Asri bin Haji Aspar made it 11-0.

Abbey doubled his tally a minute from time before Md Aman bin Haji Abdul Rahim compounded Lun Bawang’s misery in the final minute of the game.

Meanwhile, Kota Ranger FC began their title defence with a straightforward 3-0 win over Almerez FA in an afternoon kick-off at the Berakas Sports Complex.

The reigning holders, who last won the title in 2019, took the lead in the seventh minute through forward Muhammad Faturrahman Embran.

Awangku Muhammad Hazmi bin Pengiran Salleh doubled his side’s lead in the 19th minute before Muhammad Salleh Emzah made it 3-0 four minutes later.

It was also a winning return for record winners MS ABDB as new man Radin Reimy struck the only goal of the game in a 1-0 win over Hawa FC.

Brunei FA Cup inaugural winners Wijaya FC were held to a 1-1 draw by Bang Dalam FC while Rimba Star began their campaign with a 4-2 victory over Dagang FT.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -