Japan beckons speech contest winner

|     Fizah HAB     |

PANG Shet Dong won first place while Iryana Syaherah binti Muhammad Ependi and Norhafizahizzati binti Saffary came in second and third at the 32nd Japanese Speech Contest, organised by the Continuing Education and Training Division, Institute of Brunei Technical Education (IBTE CET), the Language Centre of Universiti Brunei Darussalam and the Embassy of Japan in Brunei Darussalam.

The event was held at the School of Aviation, IBTE Sultan Saiful Rijal Campus yesterday.

For the Advanced Category, Wina Sa’adatul Nabillah binti Wasli came in first place and will visit Japan in October. Siti Wafaa’ Fatin Yohanna binti Mohd Sharianaskhan and Liyana Nadhirah binti Haji Yussof came in second and third.

The speech contest comprised two categories; the group presentation category and the speech.

In the group presentation category, each group, comprising two students and a teacher, has to make a presentation about Japan in English Language. Seven groups participated in the group presentation category. Sayyidina Umar Al-Khattab Secondary School won first place while Raja Isteri Pengiran Anak Hajah Saleha Girls Arabic Religious Secondary School and IBTE Sultan Bolkiah Campus came in second and third.

Japanese Ambassador to Brunei Darussalam Motohiko Kato in a group photo with participants of the 32nd Japanese Speech Contest. – FIZAH HAB

The speech category, meanwhile, was divided into two categories; the beginner and advanced. The beginner category is for those who have studied the Japanese language for less than two years. Nine participants competed in this category.

Japanese Ambassador to Brunei Darussalam Motohiko Kato and Acting Director of Brunei Technical Education Dr Haji Mohd Zamri bin Haji Sabli were present.

The contest aimed to encourage the contestants to demonstrate their proficiency in the Japanese language to the public.

It also served as an opportunity to deepen mutual understanding and foster a greater friendship between the people of Japan and Brunei Darussalam.