Indian lockdown extends till May 31

THE STATESMAN/ANN – Lockdown due to the nationwide spread of coronavirus was extended till May 31 in India and the Ministry of Home Affairs has released guidelines giving the details of what is allowed and what’s not during the lockdown.

The National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) has asked ministries and departments of Government of India, state governments and state authorities to continue the lockdown till May 31 keeping in mind the spread of the deadly coronavirus.

NDMA also directed the National Executive Committee (NEC) to issue modifications in the guidelines, as necessary keeping in view the need to open up economic activities while containing the spread of coronavirus.

The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) has issued guidelines on measures to be taken by Ministries/Departments of Government of India, State Governments/UT Governments & State/UT authorities for containment of COVID19.

According to the guidelines all domestic and international air travel of passengers, except for domestic medical services, domestic air ambulance and for security purposes or purposes as permitted by MHA to remain prohibited throughout the country.

The delineation of red, green, and orange zones will be decided by the respective State/Union Territory governments, after taking into consideration the parameters shared by the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, the MHA said. “All cinema halls, shopping malls, gymnasiums, swimming pools, entertainment parks, theatres, bars and auditoriums, assembly halls and similar places, shall continue to remain closed throughout the country till May 31,” it said.

Night curfew, restriction to move outside between 7pm to 7am, will remain till May 31.

The MHA in its guidelines has mentioned using the Aarogya Setu app during the lockdown period. Prime Minister Narendra Modi in all his five addresses to the nation after the coronavirus pandemic spread has been vocal on using the Aarogya Setu app.

Migrant workers and families wait for transport to return to their hometowns in Uttar Pradesh and Bihar states after police stopped them from crossing the Delhi-Uttar Pradesh border. PHOTO: AFP