Friday, June 2, 2023
29 C
Brunei Town
- Advertisement -

High commission marks Independence Day

James Kon

The High Commission of India in Brunei Darussalam celebrated the 76th Independence Day of India with a flag hoisting ceremony at the residence of the High Commissioner of India in Kota Batu yesterday.

Over 150 members of the Indian diaspora and friends of India in Brunei participated.

The programme was also live streamed on social media to facilitate participation of a large number of Indian community members in Brunei.

The event began with the hoisting of the Indian national flag by High Commissioner of India to Brunei Darussalam Alok A Dimri, followed by the singing of the national anthem.

It continued with the reading of excerpts of the address to the Nation by President of India Draupadi Murmu, delivered on the eve of the 76th Independence Day.

ABOVE & BELOW: High Commissioner of India to Brunei Darussalam Alok A Dimri hoists the flag; and participants at the event. PHOTOS: JAMES KON

Indian high commissioner presents a certificate and gold medal to Gia Kamal, winner of the Foreign National category

The Indian high commissioner also paid tribute to the Indian community residing in Brunei Darussalam that has shown strength in all segments of the society and economy.

He said besides professionals like doctors and engineers, teachers, barbers and tailors also make equal contribution to Brunei.

He lauded His Majesty Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah Mu’izzaddin Waddaulah ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Haji Omar ‘Ali Saifuddien Sa’adul Khairi Waddien, Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam for his recognition of the Indian community’s contribution to the Sultanate.

The event continued with the presentation of Bharat Ko Janiye quiz winners by the high commissioner.

In the Foreign National category, the gold medal went to Gia Kamal while Amal Mazlan won silver and Elizabeth Lapong won bronze.

For the Non Resident Indians category, the gold medal went to Athulya Murali, silver medal to Aarush Kumar, while bronze medal went to Aditya Kumar.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -