HECAS 2019 online application starts Monday

|     Hakim Hayat     |

THE first round of HECAS 2019 online application to the local Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) such as Universiti Brunei Darussalam (UBD), Universiti Islam Sultan Sharif Ali (UNISSA), Universiti Teknologi Brunei (UTB) and Politeknik Brunei (PB) for the academic year 2019/2020 commences on Monday at 8.30am and ends on February 26 at 4.30pm.

The online application is also for the Brunei Government Overseas Scholarship under the Scholarship Section of the Ministry of Education (MoE).

According to MoE, the programme levels offered are Level 5 Diploma, Higher National Diploma and First Degree programmes.

Applicants are only allowed to select a maximum of two programmes from each of the local HEIs and one programme for the Scholarship Section.

They can select six programmes and those who wish to apply for overseas scholarship must also apply to at least one programme offered by HEIs.

Applicants are advised to submit or e-mail all relevant hardcopies including the printed HECAS form to the institutions applied, before or not later than three working days after the HECAS closing date.

The HECAS online application is open to holders of valid Brunei Darussalam-issued identity cards (IC) (yellow/purple/green).

However, only citizens of Brunei Darussalam (yellow IC holders) who have at least a Credit C6 in Bahasa Melayu in Brunei Cambridge GCE ‘O’ Level examination can apply for a scholarship (local or overseas).

HECAS does not process applications of government servants applying for in-service training or foreign applicants who do not have any valid Brunei Darussalam issued IC. Applicants are also allowed to use their predicted results to apply to the local universities (UBD, UNISSA and UTB) or for the overseas scholarship.

They will receive a conditional offer upon meeting the entry requirement set by the institution concerned.

After registering with HECAS, applicants have to make a cash payment at the following payment counters located at the four districts: Department of Administration and Services at MoE, UBD, UNISSA, UTB, PB, Paduka Seri Begawan Sultan Science College, Duli Pengiran Muda Al-Muhtadee Billah College, Meragang Sixth Form Centre, Sengkurong Sixth Form Centre, Tutong Sixth Form Centre, Sayyidina Ali Secondary School, Sultan Hassan Secondary School, Institute of Brunei Technical Education (IBTE) Sultan Bolkiah Campus and IBTE Jefri Bolkiah Campus.

For the exact location of the payment counters, applicants can refer to the new HECAS portal at hecas.moe.gov.bn.

More information can be accessed from MoE’s portal at http://moe.gov.bn or the new HECAS portal.

Applicants can also contact the HECAS Administration by email at [email protected] or by telephone at 2381992/2380833/2380620 during office hours.