Foochow Association KB gets new committee members

Daniel Lim

The Foochow Association of Kuala Belait (KB) hosted its 48th appointment ceremony yesterday to welcome new committee members for the 2021-2022 term.

The ceremony was held at the association’s main building in Pekan Belait.

The guests comprised the committee members from the 2019-2020 session and the newly appointed members as well as students who excelled in their studies and their family members.

Association Chairman Tan Tei Tei recapped the activities conducted by the association.

“With the new committee of the association appointed for the 48th term, the youth’s sporting section for the 19th term, and the women’s section for the 11th term, on behalf of all the newly appointed, thanks for the support we have received and hope they will continue to lead, inspire, and encourage future activities,” he said.

The newly appointed committee for the 2021-2022 session of the Foochow Association of Kuala Belait taking the oath. PHOTO: DANIEL LIM

Tan also noted how 2020 has had a major impact on the world and the nation including the association.

“But thanks to the efforts made by His Majesty Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah Mu’izzaddin Waddaulah ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Haji Omar ‘Ali Saifuddien Sa’adul Khairi Waddien, Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam, and the government, in taking appropriate measures, Brunei was able to control the spread and were able to commemorate such an occasion,” he said.

He also recalled the long service medals awarded to 19 members aged 85 and above, as well as acknowledging the students’ achievements through academic awards.

The event continued with the presentation of certificates to outgoing committee members, followed by an oath taking by new committee members.

The signing ceremony was witnessed by one of the permanent honorary advisors of the association, including Tan as Chairman, Tang Yik Liong as First Vice-Chairman, and Tiong Ying Fung as Vice-Chairman II.

Meanwhile, separate oath taking and signing ceremonies were held for the Youth Sporting and Women’s sections.

For the Youth Sporting Section, Foo Kian Ming was re-appointed Head along with Hee Siang Ming, Tan Eng Hua and Hee Siang Huei as Vice Heads.

For the Women’s Section, Agnes Hwong was re-appointed Head, while Agnes Huong and Tan Siew Yuek as Vice Heads.

The ceremony continued with an award presentation for 40 high-achieving students.

The association also conducted its annual general meeting (AGM). The activities conducted over the past year, the expenditures, as well as laying out future events were discussed.