Eko, Khaizuran blitz to double triumph in chess meet

Fadhil Yunus

Eko Handoko claimed a historic double triumph in the open categories of the 37th National Day Chess Rapid and Blitz Championships 2021 at the Aman Hills Shopping Centre last week.

The chess player totalled 10 points in the Blitz event and 7.5 points in the Rapid event en route to both titles.

Muhammad Aliuddin took second place in the Blitz event followed by Paul Cawte.

The Rapid event saw Paul Cawte claim another top three spot by finishing runners-up. Yap Choow Tun settled for third place.

Awangku Muhd Hazim Safwan took top honours in the under-20 category of the Rapid event with Muhd Aiman in second and Rodney Lim in third.

The winners in a group photo. PHOTO: BRUNEI CHESS FEDERATION

Muhammad Haziq Aiman topped the under-16 category with Awangku Md Ayyub and Nur Zahirah Zafira completing the top three winners in second and third place.

Meanwhile in the Blitz event, Abdul Zahirul Haq clinched the under-20 title with Awangku Md Nazwan taking second place and Hakeem finishing third.

Awangku Md Ayyub took the under-16 category title of the Blitz event while Daryl Chin finished in second place and Aerryl Shafiyullah in third place.

Khaizuran Rezuan matched Eko’s feat in winning two categories twice in a single tournament following his heroics in the under-12 categories in both the Blitz and Rapid event.

Emran won the veteran (aged 50) title in the Rapid event while Yap Choow Tun emerged winner in the same category in the Blitz event.

The best school in the Blitz event went to Institute of Brunei Technical Education (IBTE) Jefri Bolkiah Campus while Politeknik Brunei (PB) came in second place.

The IBTE team featured the trio of Awangku Md Nazwan, Muhd Mirza and Awangku Md Asymawi Safwan while the Politeknik Brunei team comprised Rodney Lim, Ronald Lim and Muhamad Zuhri Arif.

Organised by the Brunei Chess Federation in collaboration with Aman Hills Shopping Centre who sponsored the venue, the Rapid tournament was contested in accordance to the Swiss system of nine rounds while the Blitz tournament was played in 11 rounds.