Department of Civil Aviation declares prohibited airspace

THE Department of Civil Aviation informed the public that a prohibited airspace will be declared over the country from July 14-28.

The affected areas are within three Nautical Miles radius of Jame’ ‘Asr Hassanil Bolkiah on July 14; Taman Haji Sir Muda Omar Ali Saifuddien on July 15 and 28; Istana Nurul Iman on July 15; Municipal Field in Kuala Belait on July 20; Pekan Bangar Community Hall Complex on July 22; Tutong District Civic Centre Complex on July 24; Tatangan Persiaran Sungai Tutong on July 27; and Jerudong Park Amphitheatre on July 28.

The prohibition includes remote operated aircraft and drones. During the airspace closure, only authorised aircraft will be allowed.

The Department of Civil Aviation issued notices to airmen (NOTAM) on the airspace closure through the usual aeronautical information channel on July 11.

Members of the public seeking clarification on the prohibition can contact Head of Regulatory, Department of Civil Aviation at 2331065 or 2330142 ext 1110, e-mail: [email protected] or in person during office hours.