Curtin Malaysia awarded over MYR787,000 in grants

Curtin University Malaysia (Curtin Malaysia) received MYR787,987 in research grants from the Ministry of Higher Education (MoHE) under its Fundamental Research Grant Scheme (FRGS).

Research project submissions by nine of Curtin Malaysia’s academic staff who are active researchers were given approval for the FRGS grants.

Though the allocation is not as high as last year’s MYR819,180, this year’s nine projects are the most ever approved for FRGS grants.

Curtin Malaysia Dean of Research and Development Professor Ramasamy Nagarajan said the acceptance of project submissions and the grants awarded are testimony of Curtin’s research profile, which is recognised around the world and evident not only at its campuses in Western Australia, but across its four global campuses as well.

Dr Tan received MYR101,012 for his project, which he will investigate with Associate Professor Agus Saptoro and Associate Professor Tang Fu Ee of Curtin Malaysia, Dr Mohd Ariff bin Ahmad Nazri of Universiti Tun Hussein Onn and Professor Jacobus Johannes Derksen of the University of Aberdeen in Scotland.

Collaborating with Ir Meheron on his project which received funding of MYR68,050, are Dr Tay Ai Chen and Dr Aidin Nobahar Sadeghifam of Curtin Malaysia, Associate Professor Mohd Farid Mohamed of Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia and Dr Amir Mahdiyar of Universiti Sains Malaysia.

Mechanical Engineering lecturer Dr Naveen Kumar Elumalai received MYR92,237 for his project in collaboration with Associate Professor Sujan Debnath, Associate Professor Moola Mohan Reddy, Associate Professor Mubarak Mujawar and Dr Lim Chye Ing.

FROM LEFT: Curtin Malaysia Pro Vice-Chancellor, President and Chief Executive Professor Simon Leunig and Dean of Research and Development Professor Ramasamy Nagarajan. PHOTOS: CURTIN MALAYSIA

Chemical Engineering lecturer and Head of the Chemical Engineering Department Associate Professor Stephanie Chan Yen San’s project is being funded MYR84,200.

Associate Professor Chan’s co-investigators are Dr Tan Yie Hua, Associate Professor Mubarak Mujawar and Dr Tan Inn Shi of Curtin Malaysia and Dr Mohd Dinie Muhaimin bin Samsudin of Universiti Teknologi Malaysia.

Associate Professor M V Prasanna received MYR90,200 for his project in collaboration with Professor Ramasamy Nagarajan and Dr Lau Shiew Wei of Curtin Malaysia, Professor Sabarathinam Chidambaram of the Kuwait Institute for Scientific Research and Dr Domenik Wolffboenisch of Curtin University, Perth.

Associate Professor Agus Saptoro of the Department of Chemical Engineering received MYR95,100 for his project in collaboration with Associate Professor Wee Siaw Khur and Dr Angnes Tiong Ngieng Tze of Curtin Malaysia, Professor Jacobus Johannes Derksen and Dr Aniruddha Majumder of the University of Aberdeen and Associate Professor Yusuke Asakuma of the University of Hyogo, Japan.

Senior lecturer at the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Dr Wong Wei Kitt received MYR98,600 for his project which he will co-investigate with Dr Ngu Ik Ying and Dr Filbert Hilman Juwono of Curtin Malaysia, and Professor Sazali bin Yaacob of Universiti Kuala Lumpur.

Lecturer at the Department of Petroleum Engineering Henry Okafor Elochukwu received MYR75,700 for his project which will see him collaborating with Associate Professor Jobrun Nandong of Curtin Malaysia and Associate Professor Mohamed Ali Hamid of Heriot-Watt University Malaysia.

Dr Noraisikin binti Sabani, a lecturer at the Department of Culture and Language Studies, Faculty of Humanities, received MYR82,888 for a learning and teaching related project in collaboration with Dr Shamsul Kamariah Abdullah and Dr Anita Jimmie of Curtin Malaysia, and Associate Professor Dr Hajah Sallimah binti Haji Mohd Salleh of Universiti Brunei Darussalam (UBD).

Curtin Malaysia Pro Vice-Chancellor, President and Chief Executive Professor Simon Leunig congratulated the staff members. He extended his thanks to Professor Ramasamy Nagarajan and his deputy, Associate Professor Agus Saptoro, and their staff at Curtin Malaysia’s Office of Research and Development (ORD) for assisting the applicants with their submissions. Professor Nagarajan is also the Director of the Curtin Malaysia Research Institute.

Professor Leunig also acknowledged the project collaborators from other universities, saying that strong academic and industry partnerships lie at the heart of research endeavours at Curtin Malaysia.