Curtains drop on CAFEO 39

Azlan Othman

The curtains dropped on the 39th Conference of the ASEAN Federation of Engineering Organisations (CAFEO 39) yesterday, with a closing ceremony held at the International Convention Centre (ICC). The virtual event was open to the public.

The event opened with the signing of the Bandar Seri Begawan Declaration on Engineering and Climate Change by all heads of the ASEAN engineering organisations.

The declaration envisions to create a deeply integrated and highly cohesive ASEAN economy that supports economic growth; resilient to climate, health and environment challenges; while incorporating agenda that promote awareness on disruptive technology and circular economy.

This signing is also a commitment undertaken by ASEAN member countries to take effective actions in implementing the ASEAN Community Vision 2025 and ASEAN Leaders’ Vision Statement on ASEAN cohesion and proactive adaptation. ASEAN Federation of Engineering Organisations (AFEO) members also pledged to promote the values and ethos of the engineering community in the spirit of the ASEAN family.

The event saw awards presented to AFEO honorary members and winners of the AFEO Engineering Awards.

The honorary members are: Politeknik Brunei (PB) School of Petrochemical Head Ir Dr Tang Shi Siong, Managing Director of Bolton Hennessy Sdn Bhd Ir Kueh Ngee Wei, Jurutera Tempatan Project Director and partner Ir Hajah Rosmeta binti Dato Paduka Haji Noordin, and Vice Chairperson (Engineers Division) of Institution of Surveyors, Engineers and Architects (PUJA) Brunei cum chartered engineer Ir Hajah Fatimah binti Haji Md Ali, who has served at the Ministry of Development for a number of years.

The handing over of the CAFEO chairmanship from Brunei to Cambodia was marked by the presenting of the AFEO flag by PUJA Brunei President Ir Haji Mohammad Zin bin Haji Salleh to Cambodian Ambassador to Brunei Darussalam cum Board of Engineers Cambodia representative in Brunei Darussalam Hok Sophea. PHOTOS: AZLAN OTHMAN
ASEAN engineers during the virtual meet

Meanwhile, AFEO Engineering Awards were presented to four recipients. Universiti Teknologi Brunei (UTB) was awarded for the Brunei Networked ASEAN Peat Swamp Forest Communities, its role in the tropical rainforest environment and attaining the goals of Brunei Darussalam National Climate Change Policy (BNCCP).

The second recipient was the Ministry of Development for its role in the professional development of civil engineers in the country, through the further learning programme managed by the ministry.

Brunei Shell Petroleum Company Sdn Bhd (BSP) was awarded for the BSP Flagship Project ‘3.3 MWP Solar Plant’, and for its role in supporting the nation’s commitment to ‘Pave Low Carbon and Climate Resilient Pathways for A Sustainable Nation’ in accordance to the goals of BNCCP.

DARe (Darussalam Enterprise), the fourth recipient, was awarded for proposed construction of the Pulau Muara Besar Bridge, Road and Utilities, for its role in national development – providing links from the mainland to an island which is an industrial area for petrochemical industries.

The ceremony concluded with the handing over of the CAFEO chairmanship from Brunei to Cambodia, marked by the presenting of the AFEO flag by PUJA Brunei President Ir Haji Mohammad Zin bin Haji Salleh to Cambodian Ambassador to Brunei Darussalam cum Board of Engineers Cambodia representative in Brunei Darussalam Hok Sophea.

Meanwhile, PUJA Brunei on Thursday hosted the CAFEO 39, a gathering of engineering organisations and institutions from the 10 ASEAN member countries.

As part of the event, PUJA Brunei hosted the Engineering Technical Papers Conference on December 1-2. The technical papers were delivered over the two days by presenters from all 10 ASEAN member countries as well as India, Japan and United Kingdom (UK).

The sessions were held in four parallel sessions moderated by members from PUJA and Brunei’s academic institutions, namely Dr Tang Shi Siong from PB, Dr Yong Chee Tuan, Dr Uditha Ratnayake from UTB, and Secretary General of PUJA Brunei Ir Chin Lee Tuck.

The sessions saw 39 papers presented, focussing on the main event theme of ‘Engineering and Climate Change’ and highlighting the importance of mitigating the climate change involving reducing the flow of heat-trapping greenhouse gases into the atmosphere as well as disaster preparedness.

Many of the presentations highlighted the importance of countries uniting and working together in the race against time in limiting the temperature rise to only 1.5 degrees Celsius by 2030.

The sessions also served as a discussion forum to engage with other presenters from different countries and to exchange ideas to enhance their knowledge, studies, and research.

Overall, the technical papers presentation sessions have been fruitful, with over 200 participants from ASEAN member countries attending.

Meanwhile, as part of CAFEO 39, PUJA Brunei representatives attended a meeting of the ASEAN Engineering Register (AER).

The AER is a register of the entire engineering team including engineers, engineering technologists, technicians, and related associates from ASEAN member countries. There are 10,754 members to date.

AER Brunei is led by Country Registrar Dato Paduka Ir Haji Othman bin Haji Yaakub. At the meeting, Ir Julian Fung presented a briefing on the activities of AER members for 2021.

Issues discussed included the mobility of engineers within ASEAN, the standardisation of key standards and opportunities to share experiences and knowledge among members.

AER was formed to promote recognition of ASEAN engineering teams within and outside ASEAN, to foster high standards of formation and professional practices, and to encourage cultural and professional links among members of the engineering profession within ASEAN.