Curfew in ESSZone extended until March 27

KOTA KINABALU (Bernama) – The curfew in the waters of seven districts of the Eastern Sabah Security Zone (ESSZone) has been extended until March 27.

Sabah Police Commissioner Datuk Omar Mammah said the curfew involves the waters in the districts of Tawau, Semporna, Kunak, Lahad Datu, Kinabatangan, Sandakan and Beluran.

He said the new curfew would begin today at 6pm.

He said the curfew would be extended for 14 days beginning March 13 until 6pm on March 27.

“Other people are not allowed to enter or be in the area declared between 6pm until 6am on the dates stated,” he said in a statement yesterday.

Omar said the curfew has been extended to ensure the waters involved are not intruded by terrorists who threaten the security of international researchers carrying out research as well as foreign tourists visiting the resort island.

He said the curfew is also to ensure the security and prosperity of the people of Sabah who uses the waters and stay on the land area of the ESSZone.

The curfew would also facilitate enforcement and monitoring on the movements of boats and provide security and confidence to the chalet operators and fishermen with the presence of the security forces, he said.

Omar added that based on the information received, the Abu Sayyaf militant group and those carrying out kidnapping activities to get payment of ransom from the Philippines were still committing cross-border crimes and kidnapping.

“I have also empowered all district police chiefs in the ESSZone to issue permits to eligible applicants for purposes of fishing activities and those with pressing needs to enter the curfew areas,” he added.