Saturday, July 13, 2024
27 C
Brunei Town

Candidates vow to push on in Philippines presidential race

THE PHILIPPINE DAILY INQUIRER/ANN – Four presidential candidates on Sunday declared that they will push through with their respective candidacies.

Manila Mayor Francisco “Isko Moreno” Domagoso, in a joint press conference announced that he, Senators Manny Pacquiao and Panfilo “Ping” Lacson, and former Defence Secretary Norberto Gonzales will finish the presidential race.

“There will be no withdrawals. Each of us will continue with our respective presidential campaigns and strive to be worthy of choices from which our people will select,” Moreno read the candidates’ joint statement.

According to the three presidential bets, allies of Vice President Leni Robredo asked them to withdraw from the race.

“This all came about when Secretary Gonzales visited me, he told me that he spoke with former spokesman Abella and Senator Manny Pacquiao, and the three of them shared their common experience that someone talked to them, asking them to withdraw. They will be given money and should campaign, and there is a budget,” Lacson shared. Lacson reminded the public that there are other choices aside from survey frontrunner former Senator Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr and Robredo who is the second preferred president among survey respondents.

Candiates for Philippine’s next president at a press conference. PHOTO: PDI

“That’s the reason why we are here. There are other options.It’s not all about against Leni.

It’s not all about against Marcos or for Marcos or for Leni. This is offering other options,” the senator stressed.

Moreno, Pacquiao, and Lacson, respectively, followed Robredo in the latest Pulse Asia voter preference survey.

Aside from announcing that they will be pushing through with their respective campaigns, Moreno, Lacson, Pacquiao, and Gonzales also pledged to combine their strengths to counter any attempt to subvert the people’s will by preemptive manoeuvres or otherwise limit their choices.

They also gave their commitment to serve in the government of whoever among them will be chosen by the public as the next president.