Brunei Youth Council appoints new committee

The Brunei Youth Council (BYC) held its annual general meeting (AGM) yesterday at Dewan Silaturrahim, Youth Centre, Bandar Seri Begawan to refresh the Ahli Jawatankuasa Tertinggi Tetap Pusat (AJKTTP) which acts as the national executive committee in governing BYC’s affairs.

BYC President 2020/2021 Muhammad Aidil Firdaus bin Haji Jukin delivered welcoming remarks, followed by reports on past activities and finance by BYC Chairperson 2020/2021 Nurizzatul Izzah binti Haji Abdul Rahman.

Following the dissolution of AJKTTP 2020/2021, the election for AJKTTP 2021/2022 was overseen by Kampong Lambak Youth Association (PERBEKAL) President Pengiran Nordin bin Pengiran Haji Mahmud as Acting Chairperson.

Associate members and strategic partners of BYC, comprising youth organisations, movements and groups, including mosque youth, as well as representatives from the Youth and Sports Department, Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sports also attended.

Appointed as the new AJKTTP for 2021/2022 are Legislative Council member Yang Berhormat Khairunnisa binti Haji Ash’ari as president; and Nurul Izyan binti Anver as vice-president.

As for Global Shapers BSB, Siti Noraspadiyah binti Haji Mohd Sah was appointed as the chairperson; Muhammad Fadli bin Lt Col (Rtd) Haji Awang Zaini deputy chairperson; Mohammad Ajrul bin Haji Mail secretary-general; Muhammad Alif bin Mursidi deputy secretary-general; Dayangku Duratul Ain binti Pengiran Saripudin treasurer; and Muhammad Wa’ie Al-Syafiiq bin Mohd Shafiee deputy treasurer.

The AGM also discussed strategies to strengthen the function of BYC as a body that connects associations in Brunei Darussalam with official organisations abroad; and as a centre for networking for youth at national, regional and international levels.

AJKTTP for 2021/2022 President Legislative Council member Yang Berhormat Khairunnisa binti Haji Ash’ari in a group photo with AJKTTP for 2021/2022 members. PHOTO: BRUNEI YOUTH COUNCIL