Stay informed, stay ahead. Subscribe now
Wednesday, November 29, 2023
29 C
Brunei Town

Brunei added to Laos travel green zone list

Azlan Othman

Brunei Darussalam is among 14 countries placed on Laos’ Travel Green Zone Plan permitted to enter the country under its re-opening scheme.

The Consular Affairs Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Laos has approved Brunei, Indonesia, the Philippines, Norway, Switzerland, Finland, Israel, Ireland, Hungary, Austria, New Zealand, Poland, Denmark, and Belgium for permission to enter Laos under the new travel scheme.

The 14 nations have been added to the initial list of 17 countries officially announced two weeks ago. The initial list includes China, Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea, Japan, France, United Kingdom, Germany, the Netherlands, Spain, Italy, United States, Canada, and Australia.

Tourists will be authorised to travel within two zones, namely Green Travel Zones and Green Travel Trails, which will be rolled out in three phases.

During Phase One, from January 1 to March 30, tourists may visit Vientiane Capital, Luang Prabang Province, and Vang Vieng District in Vientiane Province.

Meanwhile, five provinces will be authorised for Green Travel Trails, including Oudomxay, Xayaboury, Xieng Khouang, Khammouane, and Champasack.

During Phase Two, the Green Travel Zones will consist of nine provinces: Vientiane Capital, Vientiane Province, Luang Prabang, Oudomxay, Xayaboury, Xieng Khouang, Khammouane, Savannakhet, and Champasack.

Four provinces will be authorised for Green Travel Trails during Phase Two, including Houay Xay District in Bokeo Province, Luang Namtha Province, Sekong Province, and Salavanh Province.


Latest article