ASEAN senior economic officials attend virtual meeting

James Kon

The Third Meeting of the ASEAN Senior Economic Officials for the 52nd ASEAN Economic Ministers’ Meeting (SEOM 3/52) began via video conference yesterday.

Senior economic officials from the 10 ASEAN Member States (AMS), Deputy Secretary General for ASEAN Economic Community and senior officials from the ASEAN Secretariat attended the meeting chaired by Permanent Secretary (Economy) at the Ministry of Finance and Economy (MoFE) Dr Hajah May Fa’ezah binti Haji Ahmad Ariffin.

The meeting, which concludes tomorrow, is a follow-up to outcomes of the SEOM 2/52 meeting and preparations for the 53rd ASEAN Economic Ministers’ (53rd AEM) Meeting in September. The meeting welcomed the steady progress of the Priority Economic Deliverables (PEDs) under Brunei Darussalam’s ASEAN Chairmanship of ASEAN in 2021.

It also updated on the implementation of the ASEAN Comprehensive Recovery Framework (ACRF), exchanged views on implementing the findings and recommendations in the MTR of the AEC Blueprint 2025, and discussed the reports of Sectoral Bodies the SEOM’s purview. According to MoFE, the meeting finalised the expanded list of essential goods under the ‘Memorandum of Understanding on the Implementation of Non-Tariff Measures (NTMs) on Essential Goods under the Hanoi Plan of Action on Strengthening ASEAN Economic Cooperation and Supply Chain Connectivity in Response to the COVID-19 Pandemic’. The expanded list includes food and agricultural products which will be submitted for Ministers’ endorsement at the 53rd AEM Meeting.

It also exchanged views on enhancing ASEAN’s economic relations with its dialogue partners including preparations for the consultations with ASEAN’s Dialogue Partners including Australia and New Zealand, Canada, People’s Republic of China, East Asia Summit (EAS), European Union (EU), India, Japan, Republic of Korea, Russia, Switzerland, United Kingdom and the United States. The SEOM – Dialogue Partners’ Consultations will take place via video conferencing on August 5, 11 and 16.

ABOVE & BELOW: Permanent Secretary (Economy) at the Ministry of Finance and Economy Dr Hajah May Fa’ezah binti Haji Ahmad Ariffin; and Brunei officials during the video conference. PHOTOS: JAMES KON