Saturday, June 3, 2023
29 C
Brunei Town
- Advertisement -

83 cyclists compete in mountain bike contest

Daniel Lim

A total of 83 local and international cyclists of all ages competed in the Mountain Bike (MTB) Race 2022 at the Forestry Department in Kampong Sungai Liang on Sunday.

The event was organised by the Belait Cycling Club (BCC) in conjunction with His Majesty Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah Mu’izzaddin Waddaulah ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Haji Omar ‘Ali Saifuddien Sa’adul Khairi Waddien, Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam’s 76th birthday celebration.

The guest of honour, Acting Penghulu of Mukim Liang Mohd Haszrin bin Bagol, was welcomed by the President of BCC Mohd Sufrizal bin Hamdan @ Bob.

There were five categories: Open; Master for cyclists age 41 to 50; Veteran for cyclists age 51 and above; Women; and Heavyweight who are above 90 kilogrammes.

The participants competed in a 9.2-kilometre circuit which began at the Forestry Department down the hill along a smooth tarmac before transitioning to the rough mountain trail within the forested area of Sungai Liang before going back to the starting line.

Acting Penghulu of Mukim Liang Mohd Haszrin bin Bagol with winners of the competition. PHOTO: BCC
Cyclists at the start of the race. PHOTO: BCC

The president said the race serves to celebrate His Majesty’s 76th birthday and promote a healthy lifestyle through mountain biking.

The guest of honour presented cash prizes and commemorative plaque to the top five cyclists in each category.

For the Open category, Loqman bin Abdul Hadzif was placed first, followed by Mohd Akif Ikhwan bin Jeffri in second place, Mohd Azwar bin Hairolrani came in third, Hamid bin Kaya fourth, and Jamri bin Johari in fifth place.

Meanwhile, the Master category saw Mazran bin Jamin in first place, followed by Radzi bin Tamat in second place, Mohd Halid bin Haji Sata third, Zuhairi bin Roslan fourth, and Suhardi bin Lakim in fifth place.

As for the Veteran category, Jeffri bin Lamat came in first, followed by Haji Mohd Azaam bin Haji Mohd Ariffin in second place, Zainalarfan bin DP Haji Ahmad in third, Rosli bin Said placed fourth, and Akui bin Anam in fifth place.

For the Heavyweight category, Mohd Kharaini Mohaimin was placed first, Addie Erwan bin Haji Mohd Azman came in second, Suzieme Lima in third place, Harmizan Lamat was placed fourth, and Mohd Norizam bin Haji Mohd Zain in fifth place.

The Female category only saw four participating cyclists, with Angie On Wan Chyi in first place, Noorfahellnie binti Nordin second, Norhasniti Juin third, and Rosmohaizan Ardiana binti Haji Mohamad placed fourth.

Twelve-year-old Syazwi bin Saliman was awarded in a special category for completing the circuit.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -