30 Malaysian districts remain COVID-19 red zones

KUALA LUMPUR (BERNAMA) – Thirty districts remain as COVID-19 red zones in Malaysia with 17 having over 40 active cases as at noon last Sunday, according to the Health Ministry’s (MOH) Crisis Preparedness and Response Centre (CPRC).

Based on the CPRC’s infographic, shared through MOH’s official social media yesterday, of the 17 red zones with active cases, Selangor and Kuala Lumpur each have four, followed by Melaka (two), Negeri Sembilan (one), Johor (two), Pahang (one), Sarawak (two) and Sabah (one).

In Selangor, the red zones with over 40 active cases are Petaling (111), Hulu Langat (106), Gombak (43) and Klang (69); while in Kuala Lumpur, Cheras (41), Kepong (85), Lembah Pantai (343) and Titiwangsa (57).

In Melaka, the two red zones with active cases are Jasin (42) and Central Melaka (65); Seremban, Negeri Sembilan (129); Johor Bahru (73) and Kluang (86) in Johor; Kuantan, Pahang (76);  Kuching (220) and Kota Samarahan (56) in Sarawak; and Tawau in Sabah (42).

The red zone category is for areas with more than 41 COVID-19 positive cases, orange zone  (20-40 cases), yellow zone (one-19 cases) and green zone (no case).

The state of Selangor still recorded the highest number of COVID-19 positive cases, totalling 1,343.

Malaysian army personnel patrol shop premises in Kuala Lumpur. PHOTO: BERNAMA