NFABD elects new Deputy President

James Kon

Haji Salleh Bostaman bin Haji Zainal Abidin was elected the new Deputy President of National Football Association of Brunei Darussalam (NFABD) during the 7th NFABD Extraordinary Congress 2020 at the NFABD House yesterday.

The President of the National Football Association of Brunei Darussalam Pengiran Haji Matusin bin Pengiran Haji Matasan chaired the congress. Representatives from Asian Football Confederation (AFC) were also present.

Haji Salleh Bostaman, who was not present at the congress, was elected uncontested. Morni bin Haji Zakaria and Ah Chua bin Bangau were named executive committee members, representing Belait District Football Federation and Temburong District Football Association.

Another four members of the executive committee include Pengiran Haji Waslimin bin Pengiran Setia Jaya Pengiran Haji Abdul Momin, Mohd Nazib bin Haji Ali, Haji Adee Suhardee bin Haji Muhidin and Haji Mohd Noor bin Haji Hamid.

The NFABD President also confirmed Acting General Secretary Shahnon bin Haji Mohd Salleh as the General Secretary of NFABD.

The congress also voted to approve that club licensing must be implemented in respect of clubs playing in the national league and top division clubs that qualify for AFC Club Competitions on sporting merits.

On membership subscription, members of the congress approved for the annual subscription fee at BND100, while the standing committees of NFABD were reduced from 17 to eight.

The new standing committees are Finance and Internal Audit Committee; Competition Committee (football, futsal, women’s football, beach soccer); Technical and Development Committee (national teams, coaching courses, youth football, grassroots, sports medicine); Referees’ Committee; Legal Commission; Players’ Status Committee; Media and Marketing Committee; and Security and Integrity Committee.

President of NFABD Pengiran Haji Matusin bin Pengiran Haji Matasan with the executive committee members, coaches and other NFABD officials. PHOTO: JAMES KON