CHMS KB shines in APMO

The Asia Pacific Mathematical Olympiad (APMO) is a mathematics competition organised by Hwa Chong Institution of Singapore.

In 2019, our school sent a team of six students to participate in the first round of the APMO Competition 2019 for primary schools on April 6 which was held at Chung Hwa Middle School, Bandar Seri Begawan. The members of our Olympiad Team, which were all from Year 6, performed excellently and beat all other teams to become the Champion of the APMO Competition 2019.

The team received a Challenge trophy, a glass trophy and a championship certificate. As for the individual round, Nicole Wong and Aaron John won first and third with cash prizes of USD100 and USD50 respectively, together with certificates. We are proud to mention that our school has won this competition in the following years: 2005, 2009, 2015, 2017 and 2019.

APMO 2019 Team Members (From left): Aaron John Leo N, Foo Wei En, Nicole Wong Qi Ying, Lim Chii Feng, Daniel Wong Jia Jun and Vaiga Sreelini
2019 ICAS Gold Medalists for Mathematics and English Language Kelly Fong Jia Qi, Novanda Bardia Wahid, Lim Chii Feng and Nicole Wong Qi Ying in a group photo