Kota Ranger ‘Joint Cup’ champions

Fadhil Yunus

Kota Ranger FC emerged champions of the Joint Cup Championship 2019 after they thumped Kasuka FC 5-1 in the final at the Track and Field of the Hassanal Bolkiah National Sports Complex on Monday night.

The club notched their seventh straight win in the competition having won all their games in the group stages.

Kota Ranger midfielder Khalil bin Saab opened the scoring in the 29th minute before captain Md Afi bin Aminuddin doubled the lead just four minutes later.

Md Asri bin Haji Aspar made it 3-0 for Kota Ranger in the 39th minute before Azwan Ali Rahman pulled one back for Kasuka two minutes after the restart.

Md Asyraffahmi bin Norsam restored Kota Ranger’s three-goal cushion in the 50th minute before Md Syarafuddin Hamdi bin Haji Talip added gloss to the win with his team’s fifth deep into stoppage time in the second half.

Legislative Council member Yang Berhormat Iswandy bin Ahmad presents the mock cheque to the winners. PHOTO: KRFC

En route to the final, Kota Ranger edged AKSE Bersatu 3-2 in a five-goal thriller in the last-four.

Mohd Fadzil Ismail bin Hamdani gave AKSE a 1-0 lead in the 13th minute before Kota Ranger’s forward Asri helped his side draw level with a penalty in the 26th minute.

Awangku Muhd Nurhidayat bin Pengiran Haji Abas put AKSE in front in the tie with his goal in the half an hour mark before Mohd Aimmil Rahman bin Ramlee turned the match around with a brace including a last-gasp winner in the second half.

Meanwhile in the other semi-final, Kasuka stunned MS ABDB 1-0 to book their berth in the title decider.

Kasuka FC player Maziri bin Maidin proved to be the hero after his goal in the 78th minute separated both sides.

The conclusion of the group stage rounds saw the top two teams from each group advance to the knock-out stage of the competition.

Expectedly, Kota Ranger FC and Kasuka FC qualified from Group ‘A’ while MS ABDB and AKSE Bersatu made it out of Group ‘B’.

Organised by the Brunei Muara District Football Association (PBDBM) with the cooperation of Kota Ranger FC, a total of 12 teams including MS PDB, MSN United, Dagang FT, Wondrous FT, Admirul Redstar FT, LG FT, Savilla and Deno FC participated.

Legislative Council member Yang Berhormat Iswandy bin Ahmad presented the prizes.