Over 120 show riding skills in mountain bike contest

|     Daniel Lim     |

MORE than 120 cyclists gathered to compete against each other in six separate categories along routes spanning both on- and off-road sections totalling 6km long. in Kuala Belait for the Mountain Bike Racing Competition.

Held in conjunction with His Majesty Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah Mu’izzaddin Waddaulah ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Haji Omar ‘Ali Saifuddien Sa’adul Khairi Waddien, Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam’s 73rd birthday celebration, the competition was conducted by the Belait Cycling Club (BCC) in collaboration with the Forestry Department and Belait District Office. It was supported by Aqrace Timing System, Geotrax Bicycle Shop, New Village Mutual Aid Association and Sehat Water.

The guest of honour was Legislative Council (LegCo) member and Penghulu of Mukim Liang Yang Berhormat Haji Abdul Hamid bin Haji Mumin. He was accompanied by Forestry Officers Hajah Norsaleha Amalina binti Haji Suut and Mohammad Arif bin Haji Selamat, Race Director of the competition Haji Amir Halim bin Haji Ahmad, and Acting Village Head of Kampong Sungai Liang Haji Ibrahim bin Dato Maharaja Setia Dian. They were welcomed by President of BCC Mohd Sufrizal Hamdan @ Bob.

Philip Campbell won first place in the Beginner category. In second and third place were Tuah bin Akop and Yuzri bin Abdul Rahman. Isa bin Haji Mohammad and Samim were in fourth and fifth place. Haji Amir Halim presented the prizes.

For the Veteran category, Jeffri Lamat bagged first place followed by Rozaine bin Haji Ratu in second place. Muhammad Hamizan Amit, Naain bin Haji Tuah and Haji Harun bin Orang Kaya Maharaja Dinda Haji Saman were placed third to fifth. Their prizes were presented by Haji Ibrahim.

Legislative Council (LegCo) member and Penghulu of Mukim Liang Yang Berhormat Haji Abdul Hamid bin Haji Mumin in a group photo with the winners
Cyclists on the trail. – PHOTOS: AMIR AHMAD

For the Heavy Weight category, Suzieme bin Lima won first place followed by Harmizan bin Haji Lamat, Muhammad Wafiy, Mohammad Norizam, and Md Firdaus bin Haji Hamzah in second to fifth place. The prizes were presented by Mohammad Arif.

For the Female category, On Wan Chyi earned first place followed by Nur Amal Nadhirah, Riyanawati binti Haji Zainal, Liyana binti Zakaria, and Siti Asimah. The prizes were presented by Hajah Norsaleha.

Md Halid bin Sata won first place in the Master Category followed by Md Radzi Tamat, Mazran Hamin, Zuhairi bin Roslan and Aiman Abdullah.

In the Open category, Muhd Zaim Baha was placed first followed by Muhd Azwar, Adrie Morsidi, Muhammad Rafiuddin Zikara and Muhammad Al Waie bin Haji Aini.

The guest of honour handed over the prizes for the Master and Open categories.

A special prize was presented by President of BCC to Muhd Zaim Baha who achieved the best lap time across the competition with a time of 17 minutes and 27.29 seconds.