Storytelling, speech contest promote Chinese Language

|     Daniel Lim     |

CHUNG Ching Middle School, Seria conducted a Speech and Storytelling Competition at the school’s multi-purpose hall yesterday.

A total of 18 students from six Chinese schools across the country participated in Primary School category (storytelling) and Secondary School category (public speech).

The Secondary School category was further divided into Chinese and non-Chinese Students group.

Among the schools that participated included Chung Ching Middle School Seria, Chung Hua Middle School Kuala Belait, Chung Lian School Sungai Liang, Chung Hwa School Kiudang, Chung Hwa School Tutong, and Chung Hwa Middle School Bandar.

Guest of honour, Chairman of the School’s Board of Directors Chin Kim Min and other members of the school’s Board of Directors attended the event.

Winners in a group photo
A participant during the contest. – PHOTOS: DANIEL LIM

The school’s Principal Dr Ang Sik Liong and parents were also present.

Dr Ang Sik Liong said the competition is held annually by the school as part of the efforts to help promote Chinese cultures and to improve the students’ oratory skills.

The contestants were judged by three invited juries, who based the final scores on their tone and voice, pacing and rhythm, as well as hand gesture and expression, which represents 30 per cent of the overall score; while the story and script comprises 10 per cent of the overall score.

The event concluded with trophy and prize presentation to top three best contestants in each group.

In the Secondary School category, for Chinese Student Group, Queenie Huong Yi Gia was able to secure first place; while Yeh Zhi Ying and Chin Lik Ting came second and third respectively.

For the non-Chinese student group in the Secondary School category, Shamita Tanushri Sures came first; followed by Shivani Santhosh and Sneha Elizabeth Panackal who placed in second and third place respectively.

Meanwhile, the Primary School category saw Mavise Chan En Yi place first overall; while second and third place went to Thian Siao Fen and Ardan Lee Hao respectively.