CFOO champions of Brunei Classic 2019

|     Fadhil Yunus     |

CFOO emerged champions of the international team event in the Brunei Classic 2019 after clocking an overall time of 19:43:45. The 160km race commenced at Jalan Maulana in Kuala Belait and ended in Jalan Budiman of the Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium yesterday.

Yang Amat Mulia Pengiran Anak Haji Abdul ‘Ali Yil-Kabier bin Pengiran Lela Cheteria Sahibun Najabah Pengiran Anak Haji Abdul Aziz was present at the event. Permanent Secretary (Administration, Finance and Estate) at the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sports Pengiran Mohd Amirrizal bin Pengiran Haji Mahmud presented the prizes.

The members of the triumphant CFOO team comprised Nik Mohd Azwan bin Zulkifle, Sofian Nabil Omar bin Mohd Bakri, Isma Rizuan bin Mohamad Esa, Kamarul Irwan bin Rusli and Muhammad Fauzan bin Ahmad Lutfi.

Wakanda Cycling Club, which is made up of Muhammad Zaim bin Baha, Ahmad Jawaahir bin Haji Johor, Muhammad Aziz bin Abdul Aziz, Azmi bin Abdul Hadzid and Muhammad Azwar bin Haji Muhammad, finished as runners-up with an overall time of 20:16:05.

Pardus, comprising Muhammad Daniel Haikkal, Aele Shafri Rusli, Razif Salleh, Fairet Rusli and Muhammad Rafiuddin Zikara settled in third place with a time of 20:36:58.

Yang Amat Mulia Pengiran Anak Haji Abdul ‘Ali Yil-Kabier bin Pengiran Lela Cheteria Sahibun Najabah Pengiran Anak Haji Abdul Aziz with the winners. – FADHIL YUNUS

The local team event was won by Wakanda Cycling Club followed by Kaka Cycling Club and G530ST in second and third place, respectively.

CFOO rider Nik Mohd Azwan was the biggest winner of the event after he clinched the Men’s Elite title with an overall time of 3:50:52s, nearly a minute ahead of his nearest rival and teammate Sofian Nabil Omar. Pardus’ Muhammad Daniel ended in third place with a time of 3:52:00.

Nik Mohd Azwan also emerged victorious in the intermediate sprint followed by Sofian Nabil in second place and G530ST’s Adrian Laurel Lauridsen in third place.

Sofian Nabil emerged top spot in the King of the Mountain category after accumulating a total of eight points followed by Pardus’ Muhammad Daniel with four points and Nik Mohd Azwan in third place with two points.

National cyclist Amiruddin bin Haji Mohammad Amir added the Best Bruneian category title to his growing collection with a time of 3:52:07. The Wakanda Cycling Club pair of Muhammad Zaim and Ahmad Jawaahir rounded off the top three in second and third place, respectively.

Meanwhile in the Men’s Master category, Zulkifli bin Ramli secured top spot with an individual time of 3:54:00. CFOO’s Isma Rizuan nearly provided his team a clean sweep as he finished in second place with a time of 3:54:28. Zulkifli’s teammate Azizulazli bin Shaari completed the top three with a time of 4:03:10s.

G530ST rider Yeong Zhen Yi emerged winner in the Women’s Open after she posted a time of 03:04:02. In second place was Natahsya Soon with a time of 03:05:52 while Nur Amal Nadhirah binti Abdul Rahim came in third.

Organised by the Brunei Darussalam Cycling Federation (BDCF) and managed by Tum2Cycles in collaboration with the Department of Youth and Sports, the competition attracted a mix of local and foreign riders.