Berlin (dpa) – Messages sent with Blackberry machines can now be set so they’re only viewable for certain periods of time, an option the company says will help with data
The Timed Message function allows users to set an expiration date by which the message and any attached images must be viewed.
The app can also, in some circumstances, recognise if a recipient takes a screenshot of a time-limited message and notify the sender about that.
Another feature means such timed messages can only be viewed so long as the recipient has at least one finger on the touch-screen.
The service also allows users to recall messages and expunge entire chats – if a message was sent to the wrong person, for example.
People can also use the new Messenger to request that photos be sent in high-definition quality.
The message service used to default to lower definitions.
The new Messenger is free for Android, Blackberry 10 and iOS devices.